Health, Uncategorized

Day 29: Revamping Old Classics

Today’s post is going to be a little different. Instead of telling you what I ate for breakfast, lunch, snacks and dinner, I’m going to share with you a classic recipe that I swapped out some ingredients to make more “clean”.

That’s right I’m not going to tell you that I had strawberry overnight oats for breakfast and Albacore Tuna Niçoise salad for lunch. I’m not.

Instead I’ll tell you about just dinner:

My dad used to make us this Spanish rice casserole all the time when I still lived at home and we all loved it. Except for mom. Three against one, sorry mom.

Anyways, when I started making it for my husband a couple years ago, it became a weekly staple in our house. The recipe used ground beef and white rice. Well I thought I would take it to a whole new level today by substituting lean ground turkey and quinoa.

An interesting fact I found after was that, nutritionally speaking, there is not a huge difference between extra lean ground beef and lean ground turkey. In fact, the beef might be a better option, I am now reading.

Similar in calories, extra lean beef actually contains less fat, more iron and less sodium.

What ever animal you choose just make sure it’s grain fed, and hormone free if you are eating clean.

Where my revamping really makes a difference is swapping out the white rice for quinoa. Quinoa packs a punch in the protein department as well has more fibre, folate, iron and zinc than rice. It even beats out brown rice.

So here it is:

Turkey Spanish Quinoa (serves 3-4, unless your really hungry like my husband usually is)

Ingredients:

1 lb lean ground turkey breasts (or extra lean ground beef)

1 onion (I used red), diced

2 garlic cloves, minced

1 sweet bell pepper, diced (I used red)

1 large (28oz) can of diced tomatoes, no salt added

1 cup quinoa, rinsed and drained

1 tbsp fresh chopped parsley (or 1 tsp dried)

1 tsp Italian seasoning

1 tsp paprika

1/2 tsp chili powder

1/2 tsp Worcestershire sauce

1/4 tsp red pepper flakes

1/8 tsp salt

Fresh ground pepper, to taste

1 bay leaf

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 350 Celsius.

Sauté turkey, onion and garlic in large skillet until no longer pink. Drain.

Add red pepper and cook until slightly soft, about 3-5 minutes.

Combine cooked turkey mixture and the rest of the ingredients in a 3-4 qt Dutch oven. Make sure all the ingredients are incorporated and you don’t have all the quinoa concentrated at the bottom.

Cook in oven for 65 minutes. Let stand for 5 minutes then fluff with a fork. Remove bay leaf before serving. Enjoy! 20140713-091554-33354147.jpg  

Standard

Leave a Reply

