Health

Day 28: I Flippin’ Did It!

I flipped an almost perfect omelet! Here’s the trick:

First I sautéed my veggies in olive oil then set them aside. I used spinach, red peppers and cherry tomatoes. Then, I poured the eggs into the pan and kind of let them set, only lifting the very edges with a rubber spatula. I tipped and swirled the pan around so that the liquid on top would run off the edges and hit the pan to cook. I continued until very little liquid remained. Then, using TWO pancake flippers, I flipped the eggs over, loaded the top with mozza cheese and my sautéed veggies and folded in half.

20140712-084242-31362326.jpgPretty good looking, if I do say so myself! Well I’m getting there.

It’s been four weeks of clean eating and I am starting to feel like I am in a rut.

For lunch I had a bbq chicken sandwich with hummus, romain, tomato and avocado. Nothing new there.

For dinner I couldn’t think of anything I really wanted to make. I had some roasted beets in the fridge, a spaghetti squash, black beans and chickpeas in the cupboard, but I sill could not put together a meal.

My grandmother brought us some meat pies from the bakery (I know, who eats meat lies these days?!). I was hesitant about eating them because a)I haven’t eaten these since the 80’s b)my grandmother and I haven’t seen eye to eye on food since as long as I can remember and c) they’re made with white flour! But we are trying to save money and I have no idea what to make so I threw them in the oven. There were too kinds but I’m not sure what exactly were in them. Beef and something. When she told me what they were I stopped listening after “meat pie”. The first ones we tried were delicious! The second ones were not our favorites but we ate them. I whipped up a roasted beet and arugula salad with chopped peanuts and goat cheese and served that right along side these mini pies.

I decided that I will get out of my rut by meal planning the rest of the week. I got to Monday. If anyone has any ideas they would like to venture forward, I’m begging you!

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

