Uncategorized

Day 23: Blame The Baby

They say one of the hardest thing about sticking with a diet is trying not to get bored with what you are eating, so today I decided to try something new for breakfast – whole wheat, oatmeal and blueberry pancakes.

Would I eat then again? Well, I have to since I made a full batch and still have about three more pancakes sitting in my fridge and I don’t want to waste food. But would I make this recipe again? Probably not.

I found them very heavy and not sweet enough for me like a real pancake. I added blueberries instead of chocolate chips and did added maple syrup but it wasn’t enough to get over the heaviness. Perhaps tomorrow I will add some chocolate chips to the mix.

Another thing: Aunt Jemima is not clean eating folks! You want 100% maple syrup. Aunt Jemima doesn’t even have maple listed in its ingredients it’s just sugar. There is no need for an ingredient list on my bottle of syrup, it’s all on the label: 100% pure maple syrup. Sure it’s 3 times the price but it’s so worth it. Bonus points if it’s local!

Anyways, here are my pancakes:

20140706-200215-72135676.jpgI know not pretty.

For lunch I made mayo-less chicken salad sandwiches. The Greek yogurt adds a tangy flavor that would have otherwise been provided by mayo. I added a few spinach leaves on each sandwich for some leafy greens. The sandwiches were so good, I had two.

For dinner I thawed out the rest of my whole wheat pizza dough and sauce from Day 16.

To the sauce I added the roasted garlic that I roasted off last night. I baked the crust first to add more stability, then I topped it off with leftover chicken, roasted red peppers, caramelized onion, roasted tomatoes and asparagus and shredded mozzarella cheese.

Yes, cheese. I figured since I didn’t have plans to leave the house and no one was coming over I would have a treat. The pizza would have fell apart without it! I made sure to get a block of cheese, not those preshredded bags of cheese which have been more processed than the blocks. It would have been Better if I had a fresh ball of mozza, you know the ones that come in water or brine, but I am not rolling in the dough (pun intended) right now.

So far, so good. Just a little bit of gas, but I just blame it on my son.

Standard

Leave a Reply

