Health, Uncategorized

Day 17:

This has been a hard entry to post. I’ve just been too busy with my babe and frankly it’s not that exciting of a post. It doesn’t even have a title.

Breakfast: This oatmeal or, as I like to call it, porridge. I used half water, half almond milk to make it creamier. It’s a nice, warm dish that would be good for a gloomy, rainy Sunday or in the winter but the overnight oats are just so much easier.

Our strata members so nicely pointed out to us that our dishwasher was leaking, causing us to shell out a bunch of money to buy a new one (yay for appliance shopping!). Since we were spending money anyways we decided to eat out for lunch. I ordered the turkey club wrap (no mayo, no cheese), quinoa salad and fresh veggies and ranch dip.

By the time we got home, it was time for a snack. I made two slices of multi-grain toast with homemade chia jam. I found the recipe here. I mashed up some fresh raspberries along with the strawberries (both from a local farmer’s market). The fruit gives it enough sweetness without adding any sugar. The chia gives it the jelly consistency.

Dinner is nothing to write home about: barbecued chicken and brown rice with spinach and leftover, roasted eggplant. I sautéed garlic and shallot in olive oil before throwing in the eggplant and then wilted the spinach. The eggplant sweetened up the bitter spinach quite nicely!

I’ve noticed my weight starting to creep back up and I’m ok with that. As a breastfeeding mother I can’t afford to cut back on calories. I make sure I get in my four servings of whole grains and 8-10 servings of fruits and veggies, eat lean proteins, and drink plenty of water. I am cutting out most dairy other than Greek yogurt and the milk in my creamer since it does bad things to my tummy (a good thing about pregnancy was that I could eat a lot of cheese and drink cows milk. Now: not so much). And most importantly NO MORE CRAP. No refined sugars. No white bread, flour, rice, or pasta. No weird, chemicals or ingredients I can’t pronounce. No junk for my trunk.

Standard

Leave a Reply

