Health, Uncategorized

Day 14: Last But Not Least

Today is be final day of the clean eating challenge. I have to say I’m feeling very thrilled, albeit a little nervous about what’s to come. It’s so easy to just give in and get that milk chocolate bar that’s 3 for $2 AND Haggen Das is on sale this week.

Anyways back to Day 14. I wasn’t even going to try and attempt an omelet today; my last attempts were laughable. I opted for a scramble instead, since it was going to end up that way anyways. I added a couple tablespoons of black beans and diced tomato to the onions and feta and only used two eggs. It turned out better than any omelet I had made in the last two weeks:

20140627-115635-42995529.jpg

For lunch it was mini portobello pizzas. I didn’t have any shallots but had a white onion in the fridge and thought that would be an ok substitute. Nope. They all burned when I roasted my tray of portobellos, tomatoes and onions. But the pizzas turned out just as well. In fact I would make them again.

I skipped my afternoon snack again today and substituted a glass of wine. Fruit for a vegetable, right? It has been a long two weeks. After wine we went to a friends house because another friend was in town and we hadn’t seen him in a while. We agreed on a curfew but by the time we got home and made dinner, it was 9:00pm when we sat down to eat it.

And that was that. I sat up late into the night pouring over groceries store flyers planning out my shopping trip for tomorrow. We have seven different places to get groceries plus a farmer’s market everyday of the week within a half hours drive. My brain was on over load so I went to bed without posting an entry.

I honestly feel so much better after these last two weeks. My stomach is digesting as it should and I haven’t really had any troubles pooping. (For anyone who knows me, this is quite the accomplishment). My skin is clearing up without using any harsh products on it. (During pregnancy I broke out like a teenager). I’ve dropped 6.8lbs and am siting pretty at 128.8lbs (morning weight, before breakfast). I don’t feel as energized as the BuzzFeed GIFs say I would, but I’m a new mom juggling a baby that needs to be fed every two hours, that gets angry if he’s not in a constant state of motion. (Please note: I do not literally juggle my baby). Most importantly I feel good about my decision to eat healthier and make changes that benefit my family. I can’t wait for my morning cup of coffee!

Standard

Leave a Reply

