Clean Eating, Health, Health and fitness, Uncategorized

Day 2: Cravings

I won’t go into too many details today about the food but you can follow along with these recipes for day 2.

I just want to say how great overnight oats are! I discovered these a few months back. So quick and easy: just throw a few ingredients in a jar, shake and leave overnight in the fridge. Breakfast is waiting there for you in the morning. And tasty too!

I will admit that I’m not entirely sure my oats are gluten free but I already had them on hand and I wasn’t going to buy more.

What I find most difficult so far in the clean eating experiment is the cravings. I am the girl who doesn’t care a lick about what I eat. I eat what I want, when I want it. McDonald’s or some other fast food take out once (or twice even) a week, always some sort of desert (chocolate) after dinner, loads of cheese and sour cream on almost everything and always morning Tim Hortons coffee.

So I found it really hard to run my errands whilst refraining from burning through Timmy’s drive thru. Or when I passed the cake pop maker in Walmart.

Word of advice for anyone trying to eat healthier: stay away from Pintrest and the food network. I found myself salivating at the pin about the Oreo cheesecake squares and drooling worse than my infant boy at Bobby Flay’s fabulously delicious looking T-bone grilled to perfection in a heaping wad of butter.

Tonight I strayed away from the menu for dinner and snack #2 as it was Father’s Day and we had a BBQ at my in-laws.

Luckily for me, my MIL is supportive of my quest and is also health conscious as well. So while the boys ate steaks us girls had chicken thighs, I still used the same proportions as was recommended in the challenge, chose sweet potato instead of russet and passed on the bread. There was one point, just before dinner I was tempted to sneak some bread and spinach dip but I held out.

Desert or snack #2 was three chocolate covered strawberries and a rendition of a peanut butter cup. Now before you walk away from me and think that I failed, I will let you in on a secret: the chocolate was made from three ingredients: Cocoa, coconut oil and maple syrup. The peanut butter cups the same plus all natural peanut butter so no harm, no foul! All natural ingredients. Homemade. Clean eating. Curbed cravings.

It’s ok if you have to stray from the plan once in a while just choose better options: pure maple syrup instead of sugar; lean, white meat instead of red meat; veggies instead of starch; always whole wheat over white breads.

I have to say I still don’t feel more energetic but my son sure does. He just won’t sleep anymore. Day or night! Tonight was another late one as I didn’t get him to bed until after 11:00pm again. Tomorrow is going to be hard without that coffee.

Standard

Leave a Reply

